My learning experience in a digital journalism class

After completing this exciting learning journey at Beni American University online, I am glad to share with you, my classmates and as part of final exam, the benefits from a 12 weeks class full of new skills, knowledge, interactions, and networking which without doubt will boost my career and personal development as a journalist and budding digital entrepreneur.

Actually, the whole course content is valuable to my career that’s why it is challenging to summarize what I kept in my mind via this blog post but I will do my best to shed the light on digital journalism lessons learned and new skills acquired.

The class started in style with ‘Journalism entrepreneurship’ an interesting subject for aspiring entrepreneurs .The lecturer explained types of enterprises and other topics but the key message for me was about taking calculated risk. As a budding business person this, reminded me that before starting any project or business I should analyze carefully the benefits, market opportunities in other words I care about profits which is my goal and dare to start.

I must admit that in addition to other lessons on entrepreneurship this topic helped me a lot as an aspiring entrepreneur: I recently applied for a digital media grant in my country where I used skills gained on’ revenue and marketing’ and ‘idea to implementation’, this was useful in writing my business proposal especially on my business model section.

“Transmedia storytelling’ is another s module that discusses mostly visual storytelling and digital multimedia reporting. This is very important for content creators in the sense that we learned new creative ways to use video for storytelling in the digital age.

As traditional media are embracing technology to tell stories and build online audience, the lesson titled’New beats in the digital age’ was very enriching in the sense that I learned how I can use crowdsource , online tools, practices for effective news gathering and reporting .

Nowadays social media and online entrepreneurship goes together. Social media marketing, public relation is a perfect strategy to grow business and career development for professional’s .The module titled ‘social media for public relations’ was very important to me in my journalism career and my entrepreneurship journey.
The 5 practical module discusses enables me to use social media campaign effectively to market my work or business online. It will help me to build a wide audience create my product awareness, interacting with customers and best PR practices using Internet.

I have been using social media for personal branding for quite a long time but the related course material and assignment have been most valuable as it helped me to improve my online identity profile following a social media audit I have done in my assignment.

I did my best to set myself apart online and will keep on reading my learning materials to improve my personal branding campaign.

Favorite lesson

Blogging has been my passion for about 5 years; the lesson titled’ Strategic Blogging’ has been my favorite on’ blogging for business ‘module. It helped me understand how I can source content; define my content of coverage topic. Planning my content plays a key part in my professional or business related blogging. It is very crucial as it will impact my online campaign for any issue or product.
As a blogger the lesson will also help improve my current blog by creating content that matters most to my clients and audience especially promoting products and services using Internet.
This online course is a major career boost as it helps me to shape my future by making it better and taking it to higher professional level.
The time spent at BAU online was not only enriching in terms of course content but also the learning system was also excellent: for instance the forums which were a good time to discuss topic covered and exchange ideas.

However, I expected to see more interactions with our instructor during our discussions for instance replying to some of our comments. It seems the course was focused on reading module materials rather than engaging students.

I don’t mean that the course instructor has not interacted with students. I acknowledge that he replied to our questions. My point is we should have seen more participation or moderation.

Networking opportunity

My learning experience was also a great opportunity for networking with like-minded people from across Africa.I followed many of them on tweeter and will keep in touch with others. That is why I kindly request their email addresses.
I also enjoyed our tweeter conversations especially on course topics.
I must admit that my connection and active interaction with Pamela Bongkyung is result of t networking part of the course. We have been interacting actively and even exchanged some work related opportunities (story ideas or newsworthy events for coverage).It was really a great and fruitful professional exchange. I hope to keep in touch with other classmates or Alumni after completing the digital journalism course.
To sum up, the digital journalism program was exciting and valuable for life learners as we gained critical and marketable skills in online media, a field that is ever growing. Without doubt it will boost career development, builds professional portfolios for some and plays a key part in achieving entrepreneurship dreams for others.

 

2 responses

  1. I hope you get your grant Karibu. More grease to your elbows mate. It has been a pleasure doing the course with you and do not become a stranger!!! 😉

    1. Hi Pamela,

      Thanks for your sweet words.It was a blessing learning with you as well.Let’s keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

